SSL monitoring is automatically turned on by default. It only affects HTTPS URL.
You will then receive alerts based on your settings. By default, you will receive an alert 15 days, 3 and 1 days before expiry.
These checks run every 100 minutes on each of your sites. We want to notify you as soon as possible if there's an issue, which is why we believe we should monitor as often as possible too.